h1

Student Travel Must-Do: La Tomatina in Buñol, Spain

March 22, 2010

I always have a list of places I want to go, usually because I have a friend I’d like to visit or because I’ve heard a place is really nice. But I also have a list of travel things I want to *do*.

For example, I’d like to go to Machu Picchu just for the sake of seeing it. But I’d like to hike the Inca Trail because I think it’s one of those travel experiences that you just can’t have anywhere else.

This week I’m sharing my list, and maybe you’ll want to add some of these travel experiences to your own list.

First on my must-do list: La Tomatina in Buñol, Spain. It’s a massive food fight held on the last Wednesday of August every year. You may have guessed from the name that the food being flung in this fight is tomatoes – more than 100 tons of them. It’s messy, crazy and incredibly fun – at least according to the friends I’ve talked to who have been there.

Sure, there are other traditional events you could enjoy in Spain, but given the choice between running with bulls who might make big holes in me or having shirtless men cover me in tomato goo, I’ll take the goo.

Lisa

3 comments

  1. Travelling to different places is much exciting specially if there’s a certain event that you are waiting for.I guess Bunol Spain is one place that i should choosed to go this year!i would like to do that tomato fight thing!haha.this is kinda weird but i love it!


  2. Absulutely agree, la Tomatina is a must-do, unique thing in the world, so don´t miss it!!!! 🙂 The closest bigger city to Buñol is Valencia, i´m sure once you´re in the area, you won´t eant to leave.. actually, if you´re yong and don´t want to spend a lot of money on hotels.. stay at Red or Purple Nest hostels, on one hand because – based on the reactions – these are some of the best hostels in Spain, on the other hand, these are planning to have own coaches to Buñol and back during “Tomatina”. 🙂


  3. Thisisvalencia.com do a great value day trip to La Tomatina – not only do they get you there in an air-conditioned coach from Valencia on time for the fight but after they take you to a great location for showers (oh joy!) lunch (with beer and sangria thrown in) and swim and chill for the afternoon before returning you clean and refreshed to Valencia city afterwards. The other advantage is you leave all your valuables on the coach for safekeeping during the mayhem of La Tomatina. All this for only 58€ – http://bit.ly/3ltFjD



Leave a Reply

