h1

Be a Groupie This Summer, Tour With Your Favourite Band

April 14, 2010

Make your summer vacation a musical one.

When you start to plan a trip, or when you’re just thinking about hopping a plane, the first thing you probably do is surf around travel sites. Right? Nothing wrong with that.

But what if you started your quest for the ultimate summer adventure somewhere else? Like, on your favorite band’s tour page?

I’ve been thinking about a European vacation, so I started by looking at maps, thinking about where I’ve been, where I want to go and what friends I want to visit. But then I thought, “As long as I’m there, why not catch some shows?”

Because seeing Muse in your hometown would be cool, but seeing Muse at the Bergenhus Festning in Norway would be completely amazing, I think. Friends will ask what you did on your trip to Europe and you’ll say, “Oh, you know, the usual. Went to some museums, ate a lot of  chocolate, met some great people, spent a weekend at a Norwegian music festival.”

They would be very impressed.

Personally, I’m trying to arrange my travel dates to overlap with a couple of Paolo Nutini shows, maybe a Jason Mraz, maybe a James Morrison. If that sounds like your kind of thing, maybe you should join me at the Blue Balls Festival in Lucerne.

Big festivals you might want to check out:

Sonar Festival 2010, Spain: June 17-19
Roskilde Festival, Denmark: Starts July 1
Oxegen Festival, Ireland: Starts July 10
Big Chill 2010, England: July 30-August 1
Pukkelpop, Belgium: Starts August 18
Leeds Festival, England: August 27-29

And don’t forget your beach ball.

Lisa

Leave a Reply

