h1

Halloween at Hogwarts! It’s the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando

April 28, 2010

I’m such a geek, you guys. I’ve been looking forward to this new Harry Potter theme park in Orlando for more than a year now – at least since I started reading all the online chatter about it.

With opening day near I couldn’t wait to plan my trip. I’ve never been to Orlando before because there are always too many other, more exciting places to go, but no way can I pass up a chance to tour Hogsmeade, shop at Honeydukes and hopefully spot a few Weasleys.

Normally I’m very wary of package deals, especially when going somewhere as touristy as Orlando. Sometimes you’ll think you’re getting a good deal until you do a little research and find that booking everything separately on your own is much cheaper. The packages being offered by Universal Orlando (where Harry Potter lives – he’s not at DisneyWorld) are pretty good though.

If you want to stay at one of the three hotels and resorts on the Universal property, you’re going to pay a lot. But if you’re willing to stay at a nearby hotel, maybe a mile or two away – with free shuttle service – you can get four nights hotel and a three day pass for the Universal parks for less than US$350 a person. That’s based on two people going. If you can get a group of four, then it works out to about US$280 a person.

Grab a great student airfare and you can totally swing this trip with the earnings from your summer job.

In case you need even more incentive, if you book a package with Universal for travel between now and December 31, 2010, you’ll also get:

* Early Park Admission to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter
* Breakfast at the Three Broomsticks™
* A commemorative ticket

My friend and I decided we didn’t want to fight the summer crowds, and we were willing to wait until the fall when schools get back in so that there wouldn’t be so many little kids getting in our way.

As long as we were waiting that long, we brilliantly realized that there would be no better time to travel to Harry Potter land than Halloween, and we chose that morning for our free breakfast at the Three Broomsticks. Hopefully they’ll be serving up some special holiday treats.

I can’t wait to tell you all about it… five months from now. (At least I have something to look forward to, right?)

Accio October!
Lisa the Muggle

5 comments

  1. WOW! I can feel your excitement! I can’t wait to experience that Harry Potter land myself.

    It seems I’m a little bit luckier– I only live one hour away from Orlando. (Actually, do you live far?)If you don’t mind, I LOVE making recommendations about what to do, or what to visit, because I drive there often. What do you like to do?


  2. my boyfriend and I are going to hogwarts for halloween too! I am just trying to figure out whether you dress up in a halloween costume or not, and if so, in a wizard related costume? or whatever you want? do you have any plans for this? i tried to google to see if there would be any special events, but couldnt find any info (just your website)!


  3. Hi Dana,

    My friend and I have also thought about costumes. I would like to feel Hogwartian while I’m there, but I’m also very aware that this is an amusement park, so I want to be practical. I don’t want to wear anything that will be difficult to sit down in, or to get on a ride, or that will be hot or heavy to wear or carry.

    I think we might just go with standard robes over normal clothes. I also have an HP scarf that I love, and I have some plastic Harry glasses I got at a midnight book release party. I might take those and just put them on for pictures.

    There are shops there if you want an official Hogwarts outfit (http://tiny.cc/bdcnx), and there are places to buy them online, but if you want something affordable that you won’t worry about getting dirty, I think a Halloween store (or Target or Walmart or one of those) will be your best bet for a simple black cape.

    I’ve also been looking for special event news but so far I just see this: http://www.halloweenhorrornights.com/

    Have fun!
    Lisa


  4. I am struggling here too! I have a killer bellatrix costume that I want to rock out, but I don’t want to be the only person dressed up!


    • Hey mtb, I’m not sure if you’ll be there on the day that I will, but I’m getting dressed up. 😉 I’ll be there on Oct 26th. I’m worried I’ll be the only adult walking around with a Hogwarts uniform on, but I want to get some good pictures and make it more ‘realistic’ so I think it’s a good way to do it.



Leave a Reply

