h1

Flexible? Get “Bumped” and Let the Airlines Pay You to Fly

September 15, 2010

What are they feeding people in the Dallas airport?

I was flying home yesterday from a mini-vacation in Boston, Mass., and during my layover the airline announced that the plane they had was smaller than the plane they originally booked. That meant too many people and too few seats.

Since I wasn’t in a big hurry to get home, I volunteered to give up my seat for the $300 travel voucher they were offering. I grabbed a bite to eat, read a book and killed the extra two hours I had thinking about where I should go for my next trip, now that I had $300 to spend on airfare.

What I didn’t find out until later was that my original flight took off, had a medical emergency and had to go back. By the time they settled everything and took off a second time, it was after I took off, so they arrived after me.

So now I’m up $300 and I got in earlier than I would have if I had stayed on that flight. As a final bonus, my luggage was on my original flight, and since it didn’t arrive with me, the airline delivered it to my house for free today, which means I didn’t have to lug it on the train from the airport home.

Now that’s some good travel karma.

Read more about the benefits of being bumped.

Leave a Reply

